Reviews



Everything a small remote country pub should be. - Rating 5/5

Fell in love with this place the instant we walked in to stay the night at the end of a long day walking the Offa's Dyke Path. Never had such a welcome. So good we returned by car for a weekend 6 weeks later and loved it just as much. A fellow traveller wanted to know why there aren't more pubs this good in the country.The simple answer is that there aren't enough publicans as good as the ones running The Hunter's Moon.

Reviewer:David W | Mon 19th Nov 2018 | 4 weeks ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Couldn’t fault the welcome, food or accommodation - thank you.

Reviewer:Lynne B | Thu 1st Nov 2018 | 1 month ago


Wish this was our local - Rating 5/5

Can't fault this place. Fantastic food and accommodation and, best of all, excellent hosts.

Reviewer:Kathryn J | Mon 13th Aug 2018 | 4 months ago


Friendly, comfortable, brilliant food and drinks, altogether wonderful - Rating 5/5

The most brilliant place - such a great evening meal and cooked breakfast, comfy room, lovely people, wonderful setting. Very much hope to visit again!

Reviewer:Keith C | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


A little gem - Rating 5/5

Lots of charm this pub is well worth a visit.Real food not just pretend home cooking, great local beers and cider.I had a lovely local sirloin steak.The room was clean and comfortable. Very welcoming

Reviewer:Sue H | Fri 6th Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


Great stay at the Hunters Moon - Rating 5/5

Absolutely faultless,great setting,great food,very friendly staff and locals .Will be coming back againPlease feel free to us this review iif you so wish

Reviewer:mr richard n | Wed 6th Jun 2018 | 6 months ago


Village stay - Rating 4/5

Really lovely pub in a beautiful village. Food was excellent,staff very helpful a relaxing experience

Reviewer:Lyndsay B | Thu 31st May 2018 | 6 months ago


2 cousins walking Offa\'s Dyke - Rating 5/5

I cannot recommend The Hunters Moon highly enough. Warm welcome,lovely rooms,delicious food and friendly, helpful service at all times. Special mention for Helen! We were treated as friends not paying guests. Thank you.

Reviewer:Sally W | Mon 28th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Offas Dyke stopover - Rating 4/5

Staff friendly and helpful.Dinner and breakfast good.Accommodation a little dated though.

Reviewer:Jayne R | Sat 12th May 2018 | 7 months ago


Wonderful place to stay - Rating 5/5

Just had our second overnight at the Hunters Moon. It is in a unique location, which also happens to be close to both the Three Castles Walk and Offa's Dyke, a perfect stopover. Warm welcome received from all the staff who are friendly and helpful. Super food to round off a day outdoors and lovely breakfast to start the next one. And Beryl's puddings are renowned. Thank you so much, we'll be back

Reviewer:Pamela M | Thu 22nd Feb 2018 | 9 months ago


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

I'm still talking about the wonderful meal we had. The lamb was fabulous. And the beer was just right as well.

Reviewer:barbara G | Sat 30th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely rural pub - Rating 5/5

Great accommodation, delicious food and helpful and kind owners!

Reviewer:Barbara N | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


A welcome haven - Rating 5/5

My sisters and I booked both rooms for one night as a stop over while walking Offa's Dyke. Rooms cosy, clean and superb beds! Dining was a teal treat...excellent food and good choice of wines. Altogether very reasonably priced. All staff very friendly, a special thanks to Helen.

Reviewer:linda k | Fri 21st Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


An absolute delight - Rating 5/5

Second stay at this lovely old inn in a small village. Comfy rooms, good ale/wine & food. Staff are very friendly. Lovely views from the bedrooms and garden. Good to find that even in a remote area the owners offer food 7 days and evenings as well. If you depend on wifi be warned that the signal, especially in the bedrooms, is a bit flaky. Just chill & enjoy.

Reviewer:Peter C | Tue 20th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Fantastic stay at the Hunters Moon - Rating 4/5

A great night's stay in the Hunter's on our Offa's Dyke walk. Nice family run business, really friendly staff, showed us how to walk to the Skirrid when we arrived. Comfortable room and the most delicious evening meal. Great packed lunch the next day. Would go there again...

Reviewer:B | Thu 15th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Very pleasant - Rating 5/5

Stayed one night on Offas Dyke walk. Excellent staging post to or from Monmouth. Welcoming bar, clean and comfy bedroom. Evening meal was lovely (risotto) with lots of other choices. Recommended

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew C | Sat 8th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


fantastic- Rating 5/5

Top staff welcoming, food amazing had a bar meal steak absolutely superb, room stunning highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. robert hancock| Wed 5th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


What a great find ! - Rating 5/5

Exceptionally friendly owners and staff who take a genuine interest in their customers. Very good fresh local food, good beer and a comfortable bed. What more is required when walking in the Black Mountains?! We will be returning soon. John and Jane. Oxford.

Reviewer:John S | Mon 19th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


A lovely break on our long walk - Rating 5/5

This pub / B& B has been the nicest place we (me and my daughter) have stayed on the Offa's Dyke trail so far. The owners could not have been more helpful and it was a delightful place to spend a night after a hike. He's a good cook too - I can't recommend the lamb shanks highly enough!

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen H | Wed 20th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent stay - perfect Offa\'s Dyke stop - Rating 5/5

My 80 year old mom, my partner and I stayed at Hunters Moon for 1 night while walking Offa's Dyke. We were impressed by the food, en-suite rooms, and level of service. The menu had good variety of choices. And meals were tasty, well portioned, and reasonably priced. The rooms clean and comfortable. Helpful and friendly staff. The ales were well kept and good. This pub is worth visiting. Would stay here again.

Reviewer:Joan B | Thu 23rd Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

We were very well looked after, food was great and beds lovely! Prices were very competitive too. Would happily recommend

Reviewer:Denise C | Thu 2nd Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Best Offas Dyke hotel - Rating 5/5

Walking Offas Dyke, this was our best stop. Beautiful location, great welcome and food especially Granny's homemade puddings. And comfy beds. Don't miss it!

Reviewer:Mrs. Eileen P | Mon 2nd May 2016 | 2 years ago


hunters moon - Rating 4/5

lovely old pub in a beautiful setting with friendly and welcoming staff.Some deilicious home cooked meals on the menu,no complaints and will visit again

Reviewer:Mrs. diane h | Mon 14th Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


PUB VISIT. - Rating 5/5

EXCELLENT STAY AT THE HUNTERS MOON PUB,EXCELLENT FOOD,EXCELLENT PEOPLE.WOULD VISIT AGAIN.

Reviewer:Mr. TREVOR B | Thu 3rd Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


Warm Welcome - Rating 5/5

We stayed just one night as we were in Abergavenny for the cycling festival.You'd never find this place without looking on the internet or stumbling upon it. We had a warm welcome,good food and a good night's sleep. Great!

Reviewer:Mr. Raymond F | Mon 10th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Well recommended- Rating 5/5

Fabulous pub ! Warm friendly welcome, the food was sublime and will be going back when next in the area

Reviewer:Natasha T | Mon 3rd Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


A little oasis! - Rating 5/5

Fabulous stay at the Hunters Moon Inn as part of a week's walking Offa's Dyke.Unforgetable location in a beautiful village, complete with medieval church next door.Comfy beds, lovely clean modern bathrooms, great food and local ale, sun filled beer garden and friendly staff and locals.The perfect British inn?

Reviewer:Ms. Dale C | Mon 22nd Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Great Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

We stopped on our way along Offa's Dyke path. A great welcome from the staff. The beer was very good and I had an excellent steak in the evening. Breakfast excellent and the rooms very comfortable. Would definitely recommend it - a proper pub.

Reviewer:Mrs T | Sat 6th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


The perfect country inn - Rating 5/5

If you want a peaceful stay in an original country inn with good food and pleasant welcoming staff in lovely surroundings you could do no better than the Hunters Moon Inn

Reviewer:Miss. John F | Tue 2nd Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


IS THERE REALLY A GHOST HERE?! - Rating 5/5

We were the three cyclists who turned up all wet and bedraggled one afternoon about two weeks ago and I walked about the bar in my bare feet!Tell Jim,Chris & their mother they run a very good hostelry - relaxed atmosphere, excellent accommodation,food and drink. Jim was very obliging when I asked for a plate of cheese and biscuits at 11.15pm.I will certainly be back to stay sometime in the near future,this time with my wife.Many thanks, Bill, Ross and DaveP.S. Say hello to Rolly the cat for me.

Reviewer:Mr. David T | Sun 31st May 2015 | 3 years ago


Wow! - Rating 5/5

We were made very welcome and had good accommodation and excellent food.We wish Granny Beryl and her family every success.

Reviewer:Antony E | Fri 8th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Friendly & welcoming - Rating 4/5

We stayed one night dinner B& B at the Hunter's Moon and were superbly looked after, and had a lovely night's sleep, good food & tasty beer. Highly recommended for anyone walking Offa's Dyke.

Reviewer:Mr. Andy M | Sun 3rd May 2015 | 3 years ago


From a member of a walking group - Rating 4/5

A very welcoming establishment with character;excellently cooked, local food and clean, comfortable accommodation.Limited choice at breakfast, but what was offered was again excellent.Very close to Offa's Dyke path - would highly recommend as an overnight stop.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kathy C | Mon 20th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


What a delightful stay! - Rating 5/5

Having been walking on Offa's Dyke, Hunters Moon was virtually on the path. The welcome was great and we were made to feel at home. The rooms were a good size, beds were comfortable, all was clean with an en suite shower room and toilet. Towels, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner were provided. The food was excellent and well priced. The service was friendly and prompt. Despite it being a busy evening the rooms were quiet. Breakfast was excellent too. We needed a taxi which was sorted for us. A very enjoyable stay. They even provided sunshine!

Reviewer:Mrs. Kathy C | Mon 20th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


great stay - Rating 4/5

We were made so welcome by the pub and the locals. With good beer and great food what more could you want

Reviewer:Mrs. Kate D | Mon 23rd Feb 2015 | 3 years ago


Pub B&B on Offa\'s Dyke path - Rating 4/5

A very good Pub B& B, which we used when walking Offa's Dyke path. Very friendly & helpful and well run. Excellent quality food (Dinner and breakfast). Very old, country pub with lots of atmosphere. Our bedroom was good and clean. En suite shower room Ok but could probably do with a little updating.

Reviewer:Roger J | Wed 1st Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


Offa\'s Dyke Stop - Rating 5/5

What a great place to stay. Warm welcome and comfy room. Superb food (fresh peas). Good, though not surprising to see it so busy.Granny's puddings recommended.

Reviewer:Mrs. Catherine N | Fri 26th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Hunters moon - Rating 5/5

Great welcome. Beautiful views. The best breakfastWe have ever had in a hotel or B& B

Reviewer:Hillary B | Sun 21st Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Old girls doing Offa\'s dyke - Rating 5/5

Our second visit. The first was in August 2013 when these guys had just opened. A year on it is even better. Such a warm friendly welcome, freshly decorated rooms and yummy food. What more can you want? Will definitely come again and recommend wholeheartedly

Reviewer:Mrs. Alison B | Tue 16th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


B&B - Rating 5/5

A relaxed & friendly place to stay. Very quiet at night and comfy bed /crisp linen. Had THE BEST cooked breakfast ever!

Reviewer:Sheila C | Wed 27th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Very nice - Rating 5/5

Comfortable, warm, friendly, scenic.Would happily return.

Reviewer:Mr. David B | Wed 13th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


An anniversary to remember - Rating 5/5

Beautiful location, warm welcome, plenty of staff all willing to help. Great food, some of tastiest sausages for breakfast, spicy prawns to stop you talking and a great mature steak. All contributed to our wonderful weekend in North Monmouthshire. The walking and the HPA also contributed to a very laid back stay for our wedding anniversary.

Reviewer:Mr. David M | Sun 27th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


A lovely stop on Offa's Dyke - Rating 5/5

What a great place! My mum and I wearily arrived from Monmouth (a 14 mile trek on foot)and were very well looked after by Geraldine and the team. Nothing was too much trouble as we enjoyed delicious food, a comfortable room, and excellent hospitality in beautiful surroundings. I have already recommended this inn to friends and colleagues, and fully intend to return one day soon.

Reviewer:Alasair M | Thu 24th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

Traditional friendly family run pub with rooms, in a great spot right on the Offa's Dyke path. Good food and beer too. For the like minded person wanting to chill in the hills, probably does not get much better than this. Shall return for sure.Gareth,London.

Reviewer:Mr. Gareth J | Thu 24th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Worth a trip off the beaten track - Rating 5/5

Stayed one night en route from Ireland to home. Friendly staff &locals. Spent the best part of an hour outside chatting to a couple before we even got to the room. Comfortable & well furnished en suite. Excellent dinner & breakfast. Lovely ambience in this small& ancient pub. Owners are putting a lot of effortand deserve to be successful

Reviewer:Mr. Peter C | Sun 20th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Countryside Haven - Rating 5/5

Beautifully kept old country inn, complete with 12th-century pub serving CAMRA-rated cask-conditioned real ales and fine country fare. Bedroom was quiet with a spectacular view of the Black Mountains looming over the St. Cadoc churchyard. Landlord is gregarious and mindfull of guest requirements, and entire staff presents a welcoming spirit. A most familial and inviting place – whether for lodgings, food or just stopping by for a pint.

Reviewer:Mr. Marc S | Sun 13th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Lovely surprise - Rating 4/5

A cosy pub with well designed rooms and comfortable beds. The food AND wine is highly recommended and provides excellent value for money!Unexpected - a little treasure!!

Reviewer:Mrs T | Thu 10th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Love to visit again - Rating 5/5

Everything about Hunters Moon was special. The location was excellent, the owners were very welcoming and friendly throughout our stay. The breakfast was spot on, I only wished we could have arrived earlier and had an evening meal. Next time we are in the areathis will be our accommodation of preference.

Reviewer:Mr. Julian E | Sun 25th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Hunters moon - Rating 4/5

Pleasant small double room with shower room. Excellent food. I would stay again and recommend it.

Reviewer:Mrs. Glenys M | Wed 14th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Exactly right - Rating 4/5

It was the perfect mix of friendly and welcoming, but also being left to your own devices. It really is very remote, but in the best way. The pub is cosy and a great mix of locals and those passing through. The food was really good - which is a relief as there's nowhere else nearby! The rooms were clean and cost, not done up with the latest mod cons but everything you need for a good night sleep. After a long day walking Offa's Dyke, it was exactly what we wanted and I would gladly stay there again.

Reviewer:Rose G | Mon 21st Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Very friendly and welcoming - Rating 4/5

Hunters Moon is in a lovely setting with wonderful views.We arrived bedraggled after a long days walking and felt very welcome, even with very muddy boots, clothes and dog!A very friendly pub, with the locals going out of their way to help us with maps and directions.The food was superb, as was the breakfast the following morning.Our bedrooms had en-suites and were warm and 'quaint'.I felt they could do with a bit of updating, but my husband disagrees and says our stay at the Hunters Moon was the best night the lot!

Reviewer:Linda S | Fri 11th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent Hosts - Rating 4/5

It was charming little inn. Quaint room with a lovely view. The food was very good all freshly cooked to order. Recommend the sausages! Warm and friendly wellcome. Made us feel like a one of the locals

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher B | Wed 19th Mar 2014 | 4 years ago